No longer a mere mortal


Immortality-Header

Today’s prompt reads you’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

While the prospect of ‘immortality’ sounds exciting enough, I have seen enough movies with immortal characters to have a few follow-up questions in this regard.

Firstly, does immortality mean that I will not physically age as time goes on? The answer to this question determines the future course of action that I will take on this endless journey called life.

For purposes of this post, let us assume that I will not physically age and remain as I am today for the rest of my eternal life. The first thing this will force me to do is to remain physically fit and strong enough to endure eternity. A strict diet, an exercise regimen will take care of my physical fitness while meditation and mental exercises will enable me to remain mentally fit, active and sharp for eternity. And the sad part is that this whole physical and mental fitness regimen will have to continue for eternity without a break to ensure that I make the most of ‘all my time’ in this world.

Another thing which I will have to ensure in this scenario is that I strictly ‘fly under the radar’ so to speak. After all I cannot afford to make a name for myself in this day and age where Google ensures that none of us are truly hidden from the rest of the world. One by one, I will have to gradually erase and eliminate all traces that I ever existed from all online and offline sources of information. This might take a while, but then I have all the time in the world, don’t I?

The next thing I will have to strive towards will be to develop a high level of detachment from all material possessions and relationships. After all, nothing material and least of all no relationship lasts forever. It truly will be a curse having to watch your loved ones age and die when you are going to live forever. Imagine living with the knowledge that everybody you know and love will eventually die and you will have to rebuild all your relationships all over again, just to watch them wither away with the winds of time.

All this being said, the only rational and useful thing I can do with my immortality would be to gain a deep understanding of human life and its frailties. This can be done by undertaking an in-depth study of the various spiritual and religious concepts across the world and then try and disseminate this information to as many people as I can, albeit in a manner which renders me obscure and incommunicado to the rest of the world.

I am sure there already are and will always be enough and more people in the world searching for answers, searching for the ‘meaning of life’ and a ‘one true purpose of life’. While there are no easy answers to these questions, I am sure that by virtue of being immortal and having the knowledge of centuries of existence, I will have some semblance of satisfactory answers to these questions.

Wow, immortality doesn’t seem quite a bitter pill to swallow, now that I have got it all figured out. But then, I do hope that my paths cross with the other fictional immortals that I know of, like Wolverine, Parasurama, Ashwathama, Ra’as Al Ghul and some others. It sure would be fun to know how they cope with immortality and what some of their techniques to tackle eternity would be.

This post has been written for Project 365 : A post a day where the objective is to publish at least one post  a day based on the prompts provided.

 

5 thoughts on “No longer a mere mortal

  1. Wow! You sure have given this whole immortality thing some thought! 🙂 Interesting read.
    I’ve been doing the ‘One photo a day for 365 days’, maybe next year I should try this one out.

Let me know what you think about this post...

