Love to love you


Running the risk of sounding extremely conceited and self-centered, let me unabashedly confess that the one person I love the most in this world would be I, me, and myself. It therefore goes without saying that my most favorite person in this world would also be me.

Having said that today’s prompt asks me to address three questions – What do you love the most about yourself? What do you love the most about your favorite person? Are the two connected?

Since I don’t want to cop out and cheat and combine the first two questions by saying that since I am my most favorite person, what I love the most about myself would be the same as what I love the most about my favorite person, for purposes of this post, I am going to nominate my little three yr old daughter, R, as my most favorite person.

Now going on to answer the questions themselves, the first one being – What do you love the most about yourself?

The one thing that I love the most about myself, at least in recent times, has been my love for reading. Reading in any form, books, newspapers, websites, blogs, reading in general has been something that I think I have always loved. As long as I have something to read, in a language that I can actually read, I go ahead and read it. You can find me reading Filmfare in the barber shop, a medical journal at the clinic, my novel in the railway platform, newspapers in the tea shop while I am waiting for my hot cuppa; it would be really difficult to catch me whiling away time without reading.

I am guessing this habit is something that I picked up from my grandfathers (both of them) and my father. While my paternal grandfather was the quintessential English literature expert with an MA in the same, his Shakespeare ‘fanboy’ status is the stuff that old childhood stories of my father are made up of. My father was no less when it came to inculcating the reading habit and a healthy affection for crime, action, adventure thrillers in me. Pretty soon, by the time I hit my teenage years, I was strongly afflicted by the reading bug, and after a few years in hibernation, 2014 is the year that it bit me with a vengeance.

Enough about me, let us now move on to the next question – What do you love the most about your favorite person? Funnily enough, despite all the cute things that my little daughter R does, the one thing that endears her to me the most is her love for books. Even at this age, when all she can do is to recognize only the capital alphabets, her enthusiasm when she receives a new book and her persistence in getting somebody at home to read it out to her is unbelievable. At an age when her friends are more tuned to the Chota Bheems and Doraemons of the television, she simply cares only about her books and having someone to read it out to them.

From the above paragraphs, the question to the third question – Are the two connected?  becomes quite redundant, doesn’t it.

So, what about you folks? Do you or your children love reading as much as I do or R does? Go on, let the other readers of this post know about what it is that you truly love doing with your kids.

=================

This post has been written for Project 365: A post a day where the intention is to publish at least one post a day based on the prompts provided. Details about today’s prompt have been provided in the first paragraph of this post.

6 thoughts on “Love to love you

  1. You love for books is evident from the number of book reviews you have ended up doing in the recent times. I’m extremely lazy when it comes to reading. I need at least 3-4 hours at a stretch to gain some interest in the book. After a long time I have now started reading again. Finished two and on to the third one now. 🙂

  2. I am a voracious reader too.. though I don’t do reviews… 😀
    My mom used to read to us as kids and then we slowly picked up the habit … my sis and I get our love of books from her 🙂

    I’m sure when I have a child, I will read to him/her too! 🙂

Let me know what you think about this post...

